4-channel sound installation at the Arkaden an den Donauquellen in Donaueschingen, Germany
texts from “Confessions” by Augustine of Hippo
voices: Oya Erdogan, Götz Naleppa, Nischa Bhakoo , Douglas Henderson, Hedda Oledzki, Tomas Fitzel
Edgardo Rudnizky: technical design and assistance
premiere during the
Donaueschinger Musiktage 2015

“What, then, is time? If no one asks me, I know what it is. If I wish to explain it to him who asks me, I do not know. Yet I say with confidence that I know that if nothing passed away, there would be no past time; and if nothing were still coming, there would be no future time; and if there were nothing at all, there would be no present time. But, then, how is it that there are the two times, past and future, when even the past is now no longer and the future is now not yet? But if the present were always present, and did not pass into past time, it obviously would not be time but eternity. If, then, time present, if it be time, comes into existence only because it passes into time past, how can we say that even this is, since the cause of its being is that it will cease to be? Thus, can we not truly say that time is only as it tends towards nonbeing?” (Augustine of Hippo, Confessions, XI, 14, 17)

In Mario Verandi´s sound installation the mechanism and sounds of the traditional Black Forest Cuckoo clock are the working materials to reflect on two distinct manifestations of time perception: clock time and experienced time. Clock time is time measured by the dimensions of past, present and future. Experienced time, on the other hand, is a more complex psychological process. Sound and music unfold in time and by doing so they make the passage of time audible. Nevertheless we can easily loose a sense of time when listening to music: “… music, that mysterious form of time.” (Jorge Luis Borges)
“Zeit|Stück” is dedicated to the memory of Mr. Klaus Rahm (died 2014)

photo by Rolf Wetzel

SWR (Südwestrundfunk) documentation:

Leoporello book (fanfold)
click here to see more